Basketball – 2005: Holstein, 1955-56

Completed a two-year sweep as Class E champions. Went 27-0 in 54-55, accumulating more than half of the team’s wins during a 50-game win streak; and the first of back-to-back the Class E state championships. The 1955-56 team won all of its 28 games but was forced to forfeit five games because of an NSAA eligibility issue.


Basketball – 1999: Lincoln Northeast, 1949-50

The 1949-50 Lincoln Northeast basketball team, a veteran team that had won the Class A state championship the previous year, played a good one on their new coach.

In Ed Johnson’s first game, they lost. Scottsbluff beat ‘em. At Northeast, no less.

Apparently, no one pushed the panic button. The team did not lose another game that year. And Ed Johnson hung around and became a legend in Nebraska high school basketball coaching (inducted into this Hall of Fame in 1994).

Scottsbluff figured twice in the 1949-50 school year. It was Northeast’s state tourney finals opponent and the Rockets this time had all the answers, culminating their 19-1season with a 36-31victory.

Northeast averaged 49.6 points per game. Opponents could score only 30.4 per game. Jack Wood and Paul Fredstrom won all-state honors.

Guard Bill Bowmaster notes that 13 of the 14 players on this team, and the 1949 team, also played football at NE. And Northeast finished second in The World-Herald’s final football ratings to Omaha Tech, the football team honored by the Hall of Fame as a Golden Anniversary Team in 1999.

Lincoln Northeast Basketball:

1950 – 19-1
Junior Amend F
Gerald Bingham F
Bill Bowmaster G
Paul Fredstrom C
Jim Gekas F
Ed Glass F
Harvey Groth C
Richard Grell G
Leon Lehr F
Duane Rankin G
LeRoy Seng G
George Stephens F
Jack Wood G
Coach: Ed Johnson
Manager: Jack Childress

Basketball – 1998: Seward, 1948 and 1949

Seward High School basketball, coached by Tom McLaughlin, made a name for itself in the era of 50 years ago, making it to the state championship game three consecutive years in 1947, 1948 and 1949. Only a handful of schools after the time when districts determined state tournament teams could boast of three-in-a-row trips to the state finals.

The Hall of Fame chose to bestow its Golden Anniversary Award, planned for an outstanding team in the school 50 years ago, on Seward’s championship teams of 1948 and 1949, both of them.

The late Roland Rivers made all the all-state teams during the 1947-49 era and was the leading Class B scorer in the state two years in a row when Seward won its state championships.

The 1948 team posted a 20-2 record and came to Lincoln for a state tournament sweep with wins over Cozad (41-33), Crete (41-33) and Ord in the finals (52-42). The 1949 team collected a prized regular season victory over Class A’s highly-regarded Hastings and its star Chuck Stickels (who is in the Hall of Fame), and the Bluejays finished off a 21-1 season with another successful trip to the state tournament–beating Loup City (51-38), Gothenburg (51-44) and Omaha Holy Name in the finals (33-29).


Dick Briggs 49
Ted Dierberger 48(s)
Don Hagemoser 48(s)-49(s)
Jim Hayes 48-49
Don Imig 48-49(s)
Dick Miller 48
Cleon Nagel 48
Roland Rivers 48(s)-49(s)
Don Rolfsmeier 48(s)-49(s)
Jack Rousselle 48-49
Bernard Scheer 49(s)
Bruce Schroeder 48
Eldon Schuknecht 49
Don Strunc 48(s)
Norman Walla 49
Dick Welsh 49
Ken Wergin 48-49
Coach Tom McLaughlin
Assistant–Cecil Walker

Basketball – 1996: McCook Bison, 1946

In 1946, McCook High School utilized a blend of the speed from a state track championship team and the experience of a talented senior class to win the school’s first and only football state championship (written in 1996).

The Bison went 9-0 and defeated Fremont, 7 to 0, in the Big 10 Conference playoff game in the final game of the year. The prized victory for this team was 40-7 over Grand Island. This victory put McCook in line for the championship because Grand Island later defeated the Lincoln champion Lincoln High, which had defeated Omaha champion Omaha South.

In those pre-football playoff days, comparative scores were the basis for final ratings and state title selections.

McCook also won the Southwest Conference championship and scored 176 points for the year, giving up 26. Coach Russ Sautter’s team usually won easily but in the few close games they had, they showed a knack for the big play.


Dale Allen
Robert Bell
Jack Boyd
Jim Brown
Gary Creasman
Dick Drake
Melvin Drews
Phil Dulaney
Howard Fletcher
Pete Gonzales
Don Hein
Richard Hill
Harvey Hoffinan
Merlin Hoyt
Wallace Keen
Milton Krogh
Dale Lyons
Joe Magrath
Jerry McClain
Jerry McIlmoyle
Leo McKillip
Roger Messinger
Don Payton
Alan Peterson
Bob Porter
Robert Real
Merrill Ream
Richard Schafer
Everett Skillman
Glen Sliger
Ted Sloniker
Allen Strunk
Bob Wallen
Robert Warburton
Stanley Webster
Joe Weiland
Bob Wilcox
Russ Sautter
Asst. Coaches:
James Meader
Lloyd McCullough
Student Managers:
Kenneth Bollerup
Keith Roper
Mary Lou Shubert Drake
Georgine Waugh
Mary Ann Wagner
Lee Avis Coler Rutt

Basketball – 1996: Atkinson St. Joseph, 1946-47-48

Take away a three point loss opening the 1946-47 season to Class A Creighton Prep and Atkinson St. Joseph would have won 78 games in a row over a three-year period, a streak which nobody would have touched in Nebraska high school basketball until the 70’s.

In those days, St. Joseph went looking for competition, more times than reaching out to schedule a Class A team. Beyond that game, St. Joseph ‘s size was Class D and that’s where the NSAA had them assigned. But the Bluejays opted to play up to Class C come tournament time and won state championships in that class in 1946 with a 27-0 record and again in 1947 with a 28-1 record.

St. Joseph then won its first 23 games of the 1947-48 season for its official 51-game winning streak.

Members of all three teams are honored:

George Barrett
Bob Berigan
Myron Collamer
Fred Deemer
Jerry Judge
Charles Kokes
Gary Kokes
Bob Mack
Bill Miller
Pat Miller
Leo O’Malley
Leon Schaaf
William Schom
Ed Scott
Tom Slattery, Jr.
Don Straka
Ben Troshynski
Leonard Troshynski
Tom Troshynski
Gerald Vogel
Ben Weichman
John Weichman
Lew Wewel
George Witter
Coach Tom Slattery
Assistants: Harold Grof, Frank Mancuso
Cheerleaders: Gladys Domina, LaQuita Parsons, Marianne Tasler (Jensen), Norma Jean Parson, MaryCoonnelly, Ethel Pettinger, Rita Troshynski, Dorthy Wilkinson, Mary Ellen Engler, JoAnn Seger. Mascots: Pat Keating, Bob Faust.