1995 – Basketball: 1971 Lincoln East Spartans

There were Nebraska high school teams more heavily favored to be a state champion in their sport than Lincoln East’s 1970-71 boys basketball team. The Spartans weren’ t necessarily big by basketball standards. They had a scrap on their hands just to get out of districts.

What sets the Hall of Fame’s Silver Anniversary Team winner off from the others that year was how they won their state championship. They had the best won-lost record in Class A, 19-2, and they had a great state tournament, a thrilling run to the 1971 state championship in a era filled with great basketball players and teams.

East’s exciting three days began with a 76-69 win over Alliance. Next was Hastings by 84-83 and that one could have gone either way. And the 74-72 title win over Papillion came on a last-second shot by Scott Copple on an out-of-bounds play regarded one of the most thrilling windup of any boys basketball state tournament game. Ever.

1971 Lincoln East Spartans:

10 Jack Ball 5-10 Jr.
42 Tom Bothwell 6-0 So.
24 Bryce Carlson 6-0 Jr.
40 Scott Copple 6-2 Jr.
52 Reg Gast 6-2 So.
20 Steve Joekel 12 Sr.
30 Rob Ogden 6-0 Sr.
22 Kent Reckewey 6-1 Sr.
44 Rick Samuelson 6-3 So.
14 Chris Siefkes 5-11 Jr.
32 Gene Smith 6-0 Jr.
34 Kurt Stacey 6-0 So.
Student Manager-Joe Bryant

Head Coach-Paul Forch

Assistants-Ken Rippe, Rudy Stoehr, Ed McPherren

1996 – Basketball: Columbus Discovers, 1971-72

Do you know how many teams not from Omaha or Lincoln have won the state’s big school basketball championship in the last 40 high school seasons (written in 1996)?

Three: Fremont in 1961, Columbus in 1972 and Norfolk in 1987. And Silver Anniversary team winner, the ’72 Columbus bunch, won its title at the Nebraska Coliseum with a 71-67 conquest of defending champion Lincoln East.

Coach Jack Johnson’s team, a regular basketball contender in this era, flashed its talent and balance by almost making a rout of the championship game, getting a 20-point lead into the fourth quarter. Then, typical of what happens in the state tournament, they had to dig down and show some grit to survive a rally by East to pluck the championship.

The Discoverers won 19 of 23 games, were Class A’s high scoring team that year and a well deserving state champion.

Roster from the 1972 State Tournament Program:

Frank Brower
Roger Brown
Larry Cattau
Les Cattau
Vernon Davis
Keith Davy
Tom Heiser
Rick Joseph
Dan Lannan
Dan Miller
Paul Potter
Scott Troffiolz
Jon Wagner
Mike Wagner
Coach: Jack Johnson
Assistants: Dennis Van Fossen
Richard Babst

Scorer: Don Holscher
Student Manager: Bruce Friedrichsen
Student Manager: Neil Dankert

1997 – Basketball: Fairbury, 1973


Greg Rosener
Bob Kujath
Mark Hansen
Mark Bangert
Greg Gibson
Dell Schmidt
John Krause
Russ Vanous
Bob Parks
Bob Siegel
Roger Stewart
Kim Kujath

Greg Hansmire, Student Manager
Ken Milius, Student Manager

Charlie Moore, Head Coach
Don Mahlman, Assistant Coach

The team ended the ’73 season with a record of 25-2 and a Class B State Championship. Fairbury’s two losses came at the hands of fellow Central Conference member Crete, 66-76 and 78-88. Fairbury avenged these losses with a 72-60 District win. The Jeffs had state tournament wins over Albion 74-52, Lincoln Pius X 52-47, and Sidney 60-54.

1998 – Football/Track & Field: Lexington High School, 1973-74

The High School Hall of Fame came very close to choosing the entire Lexington High School’s athletic program for 1973-74 as the winner of the Silver Anniversary award, an honor planned for an outstanding team in the school year 25 years ago.

The school had one of the greatest years for any school of its size, winning two state championships and two state runner-up trophies plus having highly competitive teams in practically every sport they tried.

Alas, the Silver Anniversary award eventually focused on the two state champions, football and boys track and field, and the Hall of Fame proudly adds this group to the list of annual winners.

The football team had a 10-0 record in 1973, averaging wins by the score of 40-7, in the days prior to the football playoffs when the football championships were determined by newspaper ratings. The schools had back-to-back unbeaten teams under Coach Noel Martin and the 1973 team pushed its winning streak to 25, which was the best in the state at the time.

Back Ted Harvey won all-state honors and the Southwest Conference rewarded this powerhouse with nine spots on its all-conference team: Harvey, Mark Bappe, Jeff Richardson, Craig Ferguson, Tom Robinson, Mike Adams, Greg Bacon, Fred Knapple and Pat Hodges.

The track team shattered all opposition in its undefeated season, winning its school’s first boys track and field state championship, by doubling the score on the Class B state meet field.

At the 1974 state meet, Lexington won five events, two gold medals and state record performances from Bryan Steadman (6-6) and Pat Hodges (1:55 half-mile). School records also were set by Ted Harvey (100, 220), Hodges (440), Steadman (triple jump, long jump), by Harvey-Hodges-Fred Knapple-Brent Matz in the 440 relay and Steadman-Matz-Harvey-Hodges in the mile relay.

1973-74 Lexington Players:

?Mike Adams 12, tr
?Tim Anthony 11, fb/tr
?Greg Araujo 11, tr
?Greg Bacon 11, fb/tr
?Mark Bappe, 12, fb/tr
?Mike Berke 10, fb
?Scott Bice 12, fb
?Steve Bice 10, fb
?John Boyd 11, fb
?Andy Brown 11, fb
?Jeral Bullins 12, fb
?Tim Cantrell 10, tr
?Matt Dannehl 10, fb
?Larry Davis 11, fb
?Jeff Doerr 12, fb/tr
?Scott Falkinburg 10, fb
?Jeff Fedderson 10, fb/tr
?Bill Fellers 10, fb/tr
?Craig Ferguson 12, fb/tr
?Mitch Folkers 9, tr
?Mike Gerken 10, fb
?Mike Gierhan 11, tr
?Jack Gleason 11, fb/tr
?Steve Hampton 10, fb/tr
?Roger Hanson 12, fb
?Dan Harmon 11, tr
?Ted Harvey 12, fb/tr
?Jim Hawks 11, fb/tr
?Larry Hill 11, fb/tr
?Pat Hodges 12, fb/tr
?Dave Hofferber 11, fb
?Kent Hofferber 10, fb
?Mike Holbrook 10, fb/tr
?Rodney Jacobsen 10, fb
?Dan Jensen 11, tr
?Dale Johnson 11, fb
?Joe Kelly 12, fb
?Mike Kitsmiller 10, fb/tr
?Kim Kitzing 11, tr
?Fred Knapple 12, fb/tr
?Brian Kopf 12, tr
?Brad Lahm 10, tr
?Brian Lahm 11, fb/tr
?Chuck Leininger 10, fb/tr
?Reggie Malcom 10, fb
?Mark Mandelko 11, fb
?Brent Matz 10, fb/tr
?Tim McGuire 11, fb
?Mark McKee 12, fb
?Ray Meyers 12, tr
?Steve Nelson 10, fb
?Mark Newton 11, tr
?Mike Nichelson 10, fb
?Ken Norseen 11, tr
?Mark Olsen 10, fb/tr
?Carl (Paul) Meakins 11, tr
?Keith Pearson 10, fb
?Dan Phillips 10, fb/tr
?Mark Prosser 11, fb/tr
?Jerry Pruitt 12/ tr
?Jeff Richardson 12, fb/tr
?Steve Roberts 11, fb
?Tom Robinson 12, fb/tr
?Elpidio Rodriquez 10, fb
?Mark Rodriquez 12, tr
?Dave Rose 11, fb
?Lonnie Ross 12, fb
?Wayne Shackleton 10, fb
?Doyle Shea 10, fb
?Mike Small 11, fb
?Nick Smets 10, fb/tr
?Bart Smith 10, fb/tr
?Steve Smith 12, fb
?Mark Stamps 11, fb
?Bryan Steadman 12, tr
?C.L. Stevenson 10, fb
?Pat Strohmeyer 11, fb/tr
?Clark Walter 10, fb
?MarkWhite 11, fb

??Head Coaches:
?Noel Martin, football
?Don Bader, track

?Assistant Coaches:
?Russ Eisenhart, fb
?Roger Hanson, fb
?John Higgins, fb/tr
?Dick Hollinger, fb/tr

?Rick Barmore fb, John Boyd tr
?Larry Brittenham fb, Kevin Ingraham fb
?Kevin O’Donnell fb, Steve Tallon fb
?Dennis Wallace fb, Dale Wenberg tr
?Jeff Young fb

??Football Season:

?Game by Game
?Omaha Cathedral 46-7
?Minden 35-14
?Broken Bow 47-0
?Ogallala 35-0
?McCook 35-0
?Gothenburg 41-0
?Kearney 48-6
?Holdrege 34-6
?Ord 48-6
?Cozad 28-14

??Track Wins:

?Meet by Meet
?McCook Relays
?McCook Dual
?Ogallala Invitational
?Ord Invitational
?Central City Invitations
?Dawson County Championships
?Lexington Invitational
?Kearney State Invitational
?Southwest Conference
?District Meet
?State Meet