NHSSHOF Class of 2016 Announced August 2016

August 2016

LINCOLN – Twelve athletes, six coaches, one official, and two contributors have been selected to enter the Nebraska High School Sports Hall of Fame.

They will be inducted at the Hall’s annual Induction and Awards Ceremony on Sunday, October 2, 2016, at Lincoln East High School. A reception begins at noon with the ceremony starting at 1:30 P.M.

Additional individuals and teams will be recognized and honored for special achievements.

Tickets are $25 for adults, $10 for K-12 students, and preschool children are admitted free.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting the Nebraska Sports Council by phone at 402-471-2544, or by e-mail at shelby@nebraskasportscouncil.com, or by fax at 402-413-4119.

The Inductees:


Terrance Badgett, Omaha South, 1991 – Basketball (SHS, UNL, Professional)

Charles Borner, Jr., Lincoln High, 1964 – Golf (LHS, UNL, Amateur, and Professional)

Tony Davis, Tecumseh, 1971 – Football (THS, UNL, Professional), Basketball and Track (THS), and Baseball (Legion)

Stacy Jakubowski Longacre, Howells, 1981 – Volleyball and Track (HWS, Kearney State), Basketball (HWS)

Jon McWilliams, Sidney, 1952 – Football (SHS, UNL, Professional), Basketball (SHS), and Track (SHS, UNL)

Don Meyer, Wayne, 1963 – Football (WHS), Basketball and Baseball (WHS, Legion, Northern Colorado)

Rick Meyer, Superior, 1980 – Football and Basketball (SHS), and Track (SHS, Houston University, Olympic Festival, and Olympic Alternate)

Kevin Ramaekers, Norfolk Catholic, 1988 – Football (NCHS, UNL), Wrestling and Track (NCHS)

Sarah Sasse-Kildow, Lincoln High, 1998 – Golf (LHS, UNL, Amateur, and Professional)

Linda Schnitzler Walker, Battle Creek, 1985 – Basketball and Track (BCHS, Wayne State), Volleyball (BCHS)

Laura Spanheimer DeChant, Marian High School, 2001 – Basketball (MHS, Creighton University), Track and Cross Country (MHS)

Bill Weber, Lincoln Southeast, 1980 – Football (LSE, UNL), Basketball and Baseball (LSE)


Jim Barker, Scottsbluff – Girls and Boys Cross Country, Boys Track

Randy Carpenter, Lexington – Girls and Boys Basketball

Charles “Charlie” Gordon, Lincoln Southeast – Baseball

Brad Hildebrandt, Omaha Skutt – Wrestling

Pat Hoblyn, Ansley – Volleyball (AHS and Kearney State), Girls and Boys Track (AHS)

Alan VanCura, Hastings St. Cecilia – Volleyball, Girls Track


Jim Paige, Wayne – Football, Basketball, Track, and Cross Country


Mike Purdy, Bellevue – Teacher, Coach, School Administrator, MHSAA, NSAA, NSIAAA (Executive Director), NIAAA, and the NFHS

Jim Tenopir, Lincoln – Teacher, Coach, Official, School Administrator, School Superintendent, NSIAAA (NADA), NSAA (Executive Director), and the NFHS (COO)

The Honorees:

Fischer Family Award – The Jerry and Tina McLain Family of Chadron: Children: Josh, Joe, Jake, John, Jamie, and Jasmine

Ronnie Gustafson Inspiration Award – Sophie Tate, Columbus High School Cheerleader

Golden Anniversary Team – 1966-67 Holdrege Boys Basketball and Golf

Golden Anniversary Team – 1966-67 Rushville Football and Wrestling

Silver Anniversary Team – 1991-92 Bertrand Football and Boys Basketball

Silver Anniversary Team – 1991-92 Lincoln Pius X Girls Basketball

Dominant Dynasties Teams – 1981-84 Chadron Girls Golf

Dominant Dynasties Teams – 1993-2014 Papillion-La Vista Softball

Great Moments in High School Sports – Jeralyn Poe, Lincoln North Star Cross Country