<< Return to Silver Anniversary Teams

Hall of Fame Inductees, by Name: Search by Year
1981 Class B State Champions
11-1 Record
Central Conference champion
Lone loss by 20-8 to Aurora.
Defeated Aurora in state championship game, 55-0.
Rated #5 in World-Herald final Top 10 ratings.
Four all-state players, Todd Olson, Dave Sims, Kirk Berggren, Ron Maas.
In three playoff games, they outscored opponents 132-12.
Set or tied 12 all-class or Class B playoffs records.

Season Scores:
Holdrege, 20-0
Ord, 28-0
Aurora, 8-20
Gothenburg, 39-0
Central City, 15-3
York, 51-13
Adams Central, 35-0
Fairbury, 66-0
Albion, 26-20

Kimball, 36-13
Lincoln Pius X, 41-0
Aurora, 55-0

Grand Island Northwest Football–Front left to right: Larry Brannagan, Ken Brand, Lyndon Boltz, Kirk Berggren, John Haubold, Shane Redwine, Dave Sims, Daryl Meier, Jeff Boeka. Second Row: James DeMary, Fred Kuta, Pat Severn, Brad Elkins, Mike Reuss, Jeff Baxter, Greg Mora, Kelly Mendyk, Brian Hueske. Third Row: Steve Lamb, Scott Bradley, Jeff Brand, Greg Katzberg, Chris Eberhardt, Jason Davis, Kurt Carpenter, Kevin Engle, Jeff Sheeks. Fourth Row: Coach Bob Rupp, Coach Tom Hill, Coach Al Scheffield, John Arp, Mark Sims, Kurt Grimminger, Dan Hartman, Kent Brannagan, Rob Falldorf, Scott Fox, Coach Dave Gee, Coach Steve Vertin, Head Coach Dick Anderson. Fifth Row: Trainer Pat Liebsack, Trainer Doug Armstrong, Student Manager David Bredthauer, Scott Berggren, Kevin Clark, Ron Maas, Tod Olson, David McMichael, Tom Mattingly, Tony Markvicka, Brian Anders, Glenn Mattingly.