2017-Schuyler Boys Basketball

Schuyler’s “Jolly Green Giants” 1968 Class B Boys State Champions regarded by many as the all time best team in Class B.  The Warriors featured two future Hall of Fame Inductees.  Chuck Jura, Class of 1995, and Gene Harmon, Class of 2003.

2017- Scottsbluff Championship Year

    Football, Cross Country, Wrestling, Track and Field                                                                                  

2016- Basketball/Boys Golf, Holdrege

Golden Anniversary Team: Holdrege basketball and golf, 1967. The Dusters went 23-1 in basketball, losing only to Grand Island, one of eight Class A games on their schedule. They defeated Schuyler’s “Jolly Green Giants” 66-54 in the state final. In golf, the Dusters shot the lowest single-round Class B score (237) to date while winning […]


Golden Anniversary Team: Rushville football and wrestling. The Longhorns went 11-0 in football, scoring 44.5 points per game while giving up 4.9, and claimed the Class C wrestling title while crowning two individual champions.

1995 – Football: 1945 Gothenburg Swedes

Unbeaten, untied, five shutouts and a 27-21 victory over Omaha Creighton Prep in the high school game of the year. Those were the Swedes of Gothenburg and Coach Dutch Zorn in 1945, the winner of the Hall of Fame’s first Golden Anniversary Team Award, announced at the 1995 Hall of Fame banquet. Gothenburg’s 10 wins […]

1996 – Basketball: McCook Bison, 1946

In 1946, McCook High School utilized a blend of the speed from a state track championship team and the experience of a talented senior class to win the school’s first and only football state championship (written in 1996). The Bison went 9-0 and defeated Fremont, 7 to 0, in the Big 10 Conference playoff game […]

1996 – Basketball: Atkinson St. Joseph, 1946-47-48

Take away a three point loss opening the 1946-47 season to Class A Creighton Prep and Atkinson St. Joseph would have won 78 games in a row over a three-year period, a streak which nobody would have touched in Nebraska high school basketball until the 70’s. In those days, St. Joseph went looking for competition, […]

1997 – Football/Basketball: Grand Island Senior High, 1947-48

Grand Island Senior High School’s post-World War II athletic surge produced state championships in both football and basketball in the 1947-48 school year, with the junior class that year being able to boast that their teams won two football championships and two basketball championships while they were in school. The basketball titles came in 1947 […]

1998 – Basketball: Seward, 1948 and 1949

Seward High School basketball, coached by Tom McLaughlin, made a name for itself in the era of 50 years ago, making it to the state championship game three consecutive years in 1947, 1948 and 1949. Only a handful of schools after the time when districts determined state tournament teams could boast of three-in-a-row trips to […]

1999 – Basketball: Lincoln Northeast, 1949-50

The 1949-50 Lincoln Northeast basketball team, a veteran team that had won the Class A state championship the previous year, played a good one on their new coach. In Ed Johnson’s first game, they lost. Scottsbluff beat ‘em. At Northeast, no less. Apparently, no one pushed the panic button. The team did not lose another […]